Brown and Renville Counties Named Contiguous Disaster Areas | News, Sports, Jobs

WASHINGTON, DC — Due to the

drought, US Secretary of Agriculture

Tom Vilsack nominated nine Minnesota

counties as natural disaster zones oct.


The Minnesota Department of Agriculture

said farms in affected counties

may be eligible for assistance from the Farm

Disaster Service, and State Agency

Recovery loans.

In an October 11 letter to Governor Tim Walz,

Vilsack said he was pointing to Lincoln,

Lyons, MacLeod, Murray, Nicollet, Pipestone,

Redwood, Rice and Wright Counties

as major natural disaster areas.

According to the US Drought Monitor,

these counties experienced

either severe drought for eight or more

consecutive weeks, or extreme or exceptional

drought conditions.

Additionally, a total of 20 counties in Minnesota and four in South Dakota were designated as contiguous disaster counties. Brown, Nobles, Renville, Rock, and Yellow Medicine counties were all listed as contiguous counties.

In his letter, Vilsack said his disaster declaration would make farmers in primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for help from the Farm Service Agency. This help could include emergency loans from the FSA. Farmers in eligible counties will have eight months to apply for emergency loans.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with more information, Vilsack said. In social media posts Monday, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture said affected counties may also be eligible for disaster recovery loans.

The Oct. 13 drought map for Minnesota showed parts of Lyon, Lincoln, Pipestone, Murray and Redwood counties all in extreme drought since last week.

National Weather Service precipitation data showed the Marshall area falling unusually dry. In September, Marshall only received 1.08 inches of precipitation, while the average for that month was 3.06 inches.

([email protected]

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox

Comments are closed.