19 feature films will receive government grants

For the 2021-2022 budget year, the Ministry of Information and Audiovisual announced on Wednesday June 15 the list of films receiving subsidies.

A total of nineteen feature films were deemed eligible for government grants this year.

As per an official gazette notification issued by the ministry, the selected films will carry a total of Tk 12.15 crore in two categories – Liberation War category and General category.

Last year, Liberation War, General Films and Children’s Films were the three categories in which grants were awarded.

Khorshedul Alam Khandaker’s ‘Joy Banglar Dhoni’ and Rafiqul Anwar Russel ‘Ekattor-Karatale Chinnamatha’ are set to receive 60,00,000 Tk each in the Liberation War category.

Amitabh Reza Chowdhury’s upcoming film ‘1969’ will receive 75,000,000 taka while Banalata Sen by Masud Hassan Ujjal, Bangabandhur Renu by Marufa Akhter Popy, Eito Jibon by Ali Hayder Ujjal and Bakul Katha by Masud Mohiuddin and Mahmud Hassan Shikder will receive respectively 70,000,000 taka. .

Juddhajibon from Rifat Mustafa, Laal Sharee from Bandhan Biswas, Bicharalay from Sharaf Ahmed Jibon and Maya from Himel Ashraf will receive 65,00,000 Tk.

Reza Ghatak’s Story of Dodo, Habibul Islam Habib’s Japita Jibon, Kamal Mohammad Kibria’s Arji, Chaktu Ahmed’s Ahare Jibon, Ratan Kumar Paul’s Antarkhola, Sarwar Tamizuddin Ahmed’s Bhashar Jonno Momtaz, and Syed Masud Zakaria Chowdhury and Abdus Samad Khokon’s Muktir Choto Galpo will receive Tk 60, 00,000 each.

In recent years, the official list of award-winning films has been criticized by artists, distributors and Internet users for a drop in perceived quality.

Comments are closed.